Monday, March 19, 2012

James Beard Finalists Announced!

Next's dining room. (Photo: Next)

Last year, the actual James Beard award ceremonies were pretty dismal for Chicago, so here's hoping we'll fare better in 2012. New this year is a category for Outstanding Bar Program, in which two Chicago spots were tapped; no Chicagoan included in the Outstanding Wine & Spirits Professional category.

Charlie Trotter (Charlie Trotter's) is named Humanitarian of the Year and Grant Achatz (Alinea, The Aviary, Next) is one of the 2012 Who's Who Inductees.

Here are the Chicago finalists; the Restaurant and Chef Award winners will be announced in New York on May 7:

Best New Restaurant


Outstanding Bar Program

The Aviary

The Violet Hour

Outstanding Chef

Paul Kahan, Blackbird

Outstanding Pastry Chef

Mindy Segal, Mindy’s HotChocolate

Outstanding Service



Rising Star Chef of the Year

Dave Beran, Next

Best Chef: Great Lakes

Michael Carlson, Schwa

Stephanie Izard, Girl & the Goat

Bruce Sherman, North Pond

Andrew Zimmerman, Sepia

Here's the official list of James Beard finalists.

1 comment:

Anthonia said...

Gourmet SecretsFacebook is a social utility that connects people with friends and others who work, study and live around them. People use Facebook to keep up with friends, upload an unlimited number of photos, post links and videos, and learn more about the people they meet